This website has been archived and is no longer updated.

The content featured is no longer current and is being made available to the general public for research and historical information purposes only.
About Students and teacherslinks and references Australia Innovates
A century of innovationThe Innovation cycleThe innovation game

About Australia Innovates

Australia Innovates website

This launch of the first stage of the website in 2001 celebrated two events: the 100th anniversary of Federation of the Australian States, and the 25th anniversary of the founding of the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering.

The aim of the Australia Innovates project is to develop a national centre for public presentation and interpretation of Australian innovation, with a focus on promoting:

  • awareness of the achievements of Australian innovators
  • understanding of the innovation process
  • appreciation of the crucial role which innovation has in achieving future prosperity and opportunity for all Australians

The Australia Innovates project is a partnership between the Powerhouse Museum and the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering. The Academy is an independent body of eminent engineers and technologists whose mission is to promote innovation and advancement in engineering and science for the benefit of Australia. The Powerhouse is Australia's leading museum of science, technology, design, and industry.

'A century of innovation'

'A century of innovation' was the first stage of the Australia Innovates website. Thanks are due to:

Sir Eric Neal, Dr R I Mair, Em Professor N M Tulloh, Mr R A Perry, Dr John Radcliffe, Professor J L Falvey, Sir John Holland, Mr J B Laurie, Dr C J Hillyard, Dr C S Barnes, Mr Ken Langley, Professor Alan Billings, Dr Robin J Batterham, Mr Richard Carter, Em Professor Noel Murray & Mrs Grace Murray, Professor A Lazenby, Mr M A Besley, Mr John Prescott, Mr J K Ellis, Professor De Laeter, Professor Edwin Brown, Em Professor J F Loneragan, Dr E F Henzell, Dr Arthur Farnworth, Mr Hugh M Morgan, Mr Mark R Rayner, Mr Peter Laver, Mr Donald Aitken, Mr Malcolm Kinnaird, Professor John Bennett, Mr D G Price, Dr M Lipson, The Hon Tim Fischer, Dr Jan Kolm, Mr D C K Allen, Dr C K Coogan, Mr R J Mierisch, Sir Arvi Parbo, Sir Rupert Myers and The A W Tyree Foundation.
  • The ATSE project team: Professor Frank Larkins, Em Professor Rolf Prince, Dr Doreen Clarke, Professor Ian Rae and Ms Joy Dudine.
  • all those who were involved with the production of this website.
  • innovators and companies who supplied information and images.

?The Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering (ATSE) became involved with the Australia Innovates project specifically to celebrate the 25th Anniversary of the founding of the Academy. The project, highlighting Australian scientific and technological achievements in the 20th century, proved the ideal way of celebrating this milestone. Providing a wonderful on-line teaching resource the site builds on the success of the Museum and the Academy in raising public awareness of Australian innovation. The Academy is delighted to be a partner in this worthwhile and timely project.?

'The innovation cycle'

The innovation cycle project is the second stage of the Australia Innovates website. The project was funded by a grant from the National Innovation Awareness Strategy (NIAS). The National Innovation Awareness Strategy, funded under the Innovation Statement Backing Australia´s Ability, has the objective of raising community awareness of the central role that science and technology plays in achievement of Australia´s economic and social goals. Innovation is regarded as including the fields of science, engineering, technology and entrepreneurship. The strategy is administered jointly by the Department of Education, Science and Training (Science and Technology Awareness Component) and the Department of Industry, Tourism and Resources (Innovation Awareness Component).

ATSE Powerhouse Museum